It’s Been A While…

Well, hello friend.

It’s been a while since I’ve written to you. You must forgive me when I say I have been a little occupied recently.

Since April, I have found myself working hard as an administrator in the CEO’s office for local government. When I am not constantly printing things and running up and down stairwells and running after Executive Assistants, I am studying. When I am not studying I am illustrating a children’s book. When I am not illustrating a children’s book, I am drawing portraits and writing things (anything and everything under the sun basically, short stories, rants, ideas for youtube videos, a script that I gave up on ages ago and trying to pick it up again, a book that I gave up on ages ago and also trying to pick up again). When I am not doing either of the latter, I am at church. When I am not at church, I am eating food, and when I am not eating food I am sleeping, and so on. I think you get the idea.

So basically, I wanted to write something for you that made sense. And as usual, this blog post is making absolutely NO SENSE WHATSOEVER! Just wanted to make sure that you knew that I knew that you knew that I’m still here and that I still care about you. I’m writing this because I miss you, and I just wanted you to know that I still care about you and I want you to know what I’m up to these days. So what you see is what you get.

So far this year, I’ve been…

  • A retail assistant
  • unemployed
  • A commissioning portrait artist
  • A student (and still am)
  • A YouTuber (a bad one at that)
  • A blogger (ta-da!)
  • An administrator for the Governance department (yeah man, I’m a winner!) of a local Council (I already said that, but I just wanted to rub it in a little bit)
  • A children’s book illustrator (Yoiks, nervous!)
  • A scriptwriter (Pah, hardly! getting there, getting there)

And I haven’t felt much like an “aspiring filmmaker.” I really want to pick up the guitar again. I want to sing better (yes, I do sing…sometimes), and I want to dance.

I’ve started to write stuff on my mirror with a whiteboard pen: “I’m a winner!”, or “Watch me run!”, or something like that. It’s great stuff, makes me feel awesome. There’s something really wonderful about speaking positivity over yourself and watching it take effect.

So, a bit of a heads up. When I have completed the children’s book and finished some more portraits, I’m going to start a series of impressionist paintings in oils. The theme will be worship, in the form of portraiture that corresponds with the Song of Solomon, the book of Ruth, Esther, and elements from Mary Magdalene’s story. The idea is that it will explore different facets of the “risk of intimacy”, such as closeness, abandonment, and dance. The paintings will be done in the style of Claude Monet, Vincent Van Gogh and Renoir. There is something so beautiful about using erratic movement to gild the stillness of a moment, to bring it to life and to create atmosphere. So that should be fun. And interesting. Interesting because I can’t paint.

Ok, I have to go now.

Leave a Reply

